12 September 2017

Timor-Leste holds First Plenary Meeting of the IV Legislature


The National Parliament held, on September 5, 2017, its first Plenary Meeting of the IV Legislature. This meeting began at 10:30 am and was chaired by the President-in-Office, Adérito Hugo da Costa.

After his initial speech, which referred to what was achieved in the III Legislature, and the challenges for the IV Legislature, Adérito Hugo da Costa delivered a symbolic memory to the Secretary of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Maria Teresinha Viegas, symbolizing the good relations between the National Parliament and the Government.

After that, the new Members took their seats in the Plenary. The Plenary of the National Parliament is composed of 65 Deputies, and in this IV Legislature, 23 Deputies of the FRETILIN party, 22 Deputies of the CNRT party, 8 Deputies of the PLP party, 7 Deputies of the PD party and 5 Deputies of the KHUNTO party.

Subsequently, an Eventual Committee for Verification of Credentials was set up. The Commission confirmed the legality and the absence of incompatibilities, and the Plenary unanimously voted to approve the Commission Report.

After this process, the oath of the Members of the IV Legislature was sworn in.

The Plenary Meeting continued with the announcement that there were two lists for the office of President of the National Parliament. There followed a period of heated debate on procedural and procedural issues related to voting patterns.

The candidates for President of the National Parliament were Aniceto Longuinhos Guterres Lopes of the Fretilin party and Deputy Adérito Hugo da Costa of the CNRT party.

The vote was held at 9:30 p.m., and at 10:15 p.m., the result was announced, and the deputy Aniceto Longuinhos Guterres Lopes of the Fretilin party won the election with 33 votes against 32 by Deputy Adérito Hugo da Costa, of the CNRT party.

The new President of the National Parliament, Aniceto Longuinhos Guterres Lopes, in his speech, began by declaring that he will be president of the whole Parliament and not of parties or factions. He then addressed the various organs of sovereignty, guaranteeing the respect and solidarity of the National Parliament. He also appealed to Members to work together, resolving differences and joining forces in defense of the national interest, without, however, leaving the critical spirit of each Member. Finally, he pledged his full commitment to Parliament to work for all East Timorese.

The work of the National Parliament continues today, September 6, for the election of the remaining members of the Bureau.

No comments: