26 April 2013

Timor Leste Parliamentary Committee A to prioritise land, municipalities and anti-corruption laws

ETLJB  26 April 2013 - In 2013 the Commission A of the National Parliament will give priority to three laws: Local Powers, Land Law and the Anti-Corruption Law.

According to the President of Commission A, MP Carmelita Caetano Moniz, the three laws are the Local Power Law composed of a package of seven pieces of legislation, the Land Law composed of a package of three pieces of legislation and the Anti Corruption Law.

“Within this year we will try hard to debate these laws and take them to the plenary for approval,” said MP Moniz.
She added of the three law, the Land Law is the most important to be debated and approved at the National Parliament because there are many land disputes in the country.

Meanwhile CNRT MP Francisco da Costa said these laws must be adequately debated and approved by the parliament so some of the problems that have occurred can be regulated.

“But I don’t know yet about the status of the Land and Property Law and the Anti-Corruption Law because the law I have at the moment on my table is the Municipalities Law,” said MP da Costa.

The MP has concerns with the fact the laws are in Portuguese and urges them to be translated into Tetum so they can be easily understood.

“So we can provide feedback to one another. I think it is very important to approve these laws and laws are important to regulate citizens,” added MP da Costa. Source: The Dili Weekly Edited by Warren L. Wright

No comments: