08 January 2009

UNDP: Spanish Agency Provides Additional One Million Euro to Support the East Timor Justice Sector

UNDP: Spanish Agency Provides Additional One Million Euro To Support The Justice Sector

Dili, 6 January, 2009

The Spanish Government through the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation, (AECID) announced on 11 December, 2008 additional one million Euro contribution to the “Strengthening the Justice System in Timor-Leste” project of the UNDP. This new package brings the total contribution of the AECID in 2008 for this programme to two million Euros.

“This support will assist the justice sector to implement part of the government’s national priorities, which seeks, among other things, to improve citizen’s access to justice”, said Dr. Lúcia Lobato, Minister of Justice. The Spanish funds will be allocated to expand the level of support to the judiciary

“The Spanish government wants to ensure the efficient functioning of the judiciary institutions by providing adequate resources and skills to the legal actors. We expect that this contribution can assist the justice sector to guarantee the effective implementation of the rule of law in order to achieve peace and development”, stated Mr. Francisco de Asís Lopez, Head of the AECID Office in Timor Leste.

“This contribution from Spain comes during an important period for the UNDP Justice System Programme, especially after the new project document is about to be signed by the national judiciary authorities to restructure and expand its activities in the next 5 years. I want to express my sincere thanks to the Spanish government for this valuable contribution which will allow the sustainable improvement of Timor-Leste's judiciary sector”, said Mr. Akbar Usmani, the UNDP Country Director.

To develop the capacity of the Courts, the Prosecution and Public Defender's Office the UNDP Justice System Programme has been working closely with the national institutions and the Council of Coordination over the past 5 years. The JSP is currently supported by Australia, Brazil, Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and OHCHR.


No comments: