22 October 2017

Partido Democrático (Democratic Party) of Timor-Leste

The Democratic Party (Portuguese: Partido Democrático) or the Democratic Party In Timor-Leste is a centre-left political party in East Timor, established on 10 June 2001.

Currently, most of the members of the party are of the young generation who are studying abroad, and those who have completed their studies in Indonesia, Norway, Portugal, Australia, New Zealand and the United States.

In the 2001 parliamentary election held on 30 August, the party won 8.7% of the popular vote and seven out of 88 seats, the second-highest representation in parliament, after Fretilin.

In the April 2007 presidential election, the party's leader, Fernando de Araújo, took third place with 19.18% of the vote.

In provisional results of the June 2007 parliamentary election, the party won 11.30% of the vote, placing fourth.

In the 2017 election, the Democratic Party gained 7 seats in the National Parliament.


No comments: